• FSSO 3
  • FSSO 2
  • FSSO-2011-Messiah
  • FSSO 1
  • FSSO-2011-Messiah-2
  • FSSO2011

Orchestra Members

Principal viola

Jeanne-Louise Moolman

Jeanne-Louise Moolman 01
Jeanne-Louise Moolman
was appointed in 2008 as principal violist of the FSSO and viola player of the Odeion String Quartet at the University of the Free State. Jeanne-Louise was a founding member of the Rosamunde String Quartet. In 1990 she took part in the first live TV broadcast of serious music in South Africa during the SABC Chamber Music Festival at Mount Grace. Since then she established herself as one of the most sought after viola players in the country. She has performed in different other chamber music combinations with people such as violinists Gerard Korsten and Philippe Graffin, pianists Lamar Crowson and Albie van Schalkwyk, and clarinettist Robert Pickup.

As a soloist she performed several concerti with some of the most important orchestras in South Africa. In 2008 she gave the world-premiere performance of Stefans Grové’s Concerto for Flute and Viola with the Chamber Orchestra of South Africa and was subsequently invited to perform this work at the 37th International Viola Congress in Stellenbosch.

She regularly plays recitals in South Africa and Zimbabwe in cities like Pretoria, Bloemfontein, Harare and Bulawayo. The world-renowned South African composer Stefans Grové dedicated his Sonata for Viola and Piano to Jeanne-Louise. She premiered the work in 1994 - a performance that was described by the Pretoria News as one of the musical highlights of that year.

Jeanne-Louise has about twenty years experience as principal violist of various professional orchestras in South Africa. She studied under Prof. Alan Solomon at the University of Pretoria and under Thomas Riebl in Salzburg. As a student she won among others the ATKV Forté and the Oude Meesters competitions and in 1985 she was the first winner of the prestigious 75th Commemorative Prize of the University of Natal.